Halsey Hall Chapter - SABR
About the Chapter | Officers and History | By-Laws and Procedures | Who Was Halsey Hall?
Chapter Events | Membership | Publications | Quicksteps BBC
Book Club | Research Projects | Regional Links | Home

Home > Chapter Publications > Holy Cow! Newsletter >


The Newsletter of the Halsey Hall Chapter
Society for American Baseball Research (SABR)

June 2009

David Laliberte to Receive McFarland-SABR Award
New Directors and Officers Elected
Research Primer Updated
New Member
Minnesotans in Baseball Now in Bookstores
Board of Directors

David Laliberte to Receive McFarland-SABR Award

Halsey Hall Chapter member David Laliberte is one of the recipients of the McFarland-SABR Award, which honors the authors of the best articles or papers on baseball history or biography during the preceding calendar year. Dave is being honored for Myth, History and Indian Baseball: An Unexpected Story of the Game in Minnesota, research that he presented to the Halsey Hall Chapter at its meeting in the spring of 2008. The award will be presented at the SABR convention in Washington, D. C., in July with Howard Luloff accepting the award on Dave’s behalf.

In other news about chapter members, Roger Godin was reelected U.S. Vice President-West at the Annual General Meeting of the Society for International Hockey Research meeting in Montreal on May 16 and also presented a paper at the meeting, Frank “Coddy” Winters: Forgotten American Superstar. Peter Schilling will read his short baseball story, The Man Who Stopped Time at Magers & Quinn Booksellers, 3038 Hennepin Avenue in Minneapolis on Thursday, June 25 at 7:30 p.m. Also on the program is Monica Nucciarone, who will discuss her book on Alexander Cartwright.

New Directors and Officers Elected

At the May 2 chapter meeting, Fred Buckland, Kevin Hennessy, George Rekela, and Scot Johnson were elected to two-year terms to the board of directors to fill the expiring terms of Lee Temanson, Armand Peterson, Doug Ernst, and Stew Thornley. They join holdover directors Art Mugalian, Jerry Janzen, and Gary Hackenmueller on the 2009-2010 board of directors.

From this group, Kevin Hennessy was elected president for the coming year, George Rekela vice president, Jerry Janzen treasurer, and Art Mugalian secretary. As vice president, George appointed chairs of the standing committees by retaining current Events Chair Howard Luloff and appointing Rich Arpi as chair of the Research Committee.

The date for the fall chapter meeting has been set for Saturday, October 17.

In elections to the Society for American Baseball Research board of directors, Andy McCue was elected president, Vince Gennaro secretary, and Gary Gillette director. Their terms will begin at the SABR convention in July. Cary Smith was one of the candidates for director. The Halsey Hall Chapter salutes Cary for his willingness to serve SABR on its board of directors.

Research Primer Updated

The Halsey Hall Chapter Research Committee has updated the Baseball Research Primer, which is on the chapter web site. Rich Arpi will head an effort to make a research primer specific to Minnesota baseball.

Go to Top

New Member

The Halsey Hall Chapter welcomes new member Michael Rozinka.

Minnesotans in Baseball Now in Bookstores

Halsey Hall Chapter members at booksigning for Minnesotans in Baseball
Contributors to Minnesotans in Baseball, a collaborative project of the Halsey Hall SABR Chapter, were present at a booksigning at Borders in Rosedale on June 13.


    July 11—Hot Stove Saturday Morning, Bakers Square, 66th and Xerxes, Richfield, 9:00 a.m. For more information, contact Mark Johnson, 952-831-1153, baseballbooks@comcast.net.

    August 8—Book Club Meeting, Barnes & Noble, Har Mar Mall, Roseville, 9:30 a.m., Catcher: How the Man Behind the Plate Became an American Folk Hero by Peter Morris. For more information, contact Tom Dolen, 651-483-8617, or Art Mugalian, 612-721-2825, amugalian@comcast.net.

    October 17—Fall Chapter Meeting. For more information, contact Howard Luloff, 952-922-5036, Hfan77@webtv.net.

Halsey Hall Chapter
Board of Directors 2008-2009
President—Art Mugalian
Vice President—Lee Temanson
Secretary—Armand Peterson
Treasurer—Jerry Janzen
Doug Ernst
Gary Hackenmueller
Stew Thornley  

Board of Directors 2009-2010
President—Kevin Hennessy
Vice President—George Rekela
Secretary—Art Mugalian
Treasurer—Jerry Janzen
Fred Buckland
Gary Hackenmueller
Scot Johnson

The Holy Cow! Editor—Stew Thornley
Webmaster—John Gregory 

Halsey Hall Chapter Web Page: http://halseyhall.org

Past issues of The Holy Cow! are available at http://halseyhall.org/pubs/holy.html


Chapter History: http://halseyhall.org/officers_history.html

Chapter Procedures and By-Laws: http://halseyhall.org/bylaws.html

Society for American Baseball Research: http://sabr.org

Go to Top